Patchwork [07/19] tune: Remove tune-x86_64.inc

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Darren Hart
Date Jan. 22, 2014, 12:58 a.m.
Message ID <7908e39fdfb727ef7f02c7401da6acdcf5b04e06.1390351667.git.dvhart@linux.intel.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/65457/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Darren Hart - Jan. 22, 2014, 12:58 a.m.
The tune-x86_64.inc file is conceptually flawed. x86_64 is more akin to
the x86 and x86-32 ABIs defined in arch-x86.inc than it is a concrete
tune file, such as i586 or core2 - to the extent that everything but the
default tune is defined in the arch-x86.inc file. This becomes very
apparant when attempting to include tune-x86_64.inc in the x86 tune
hierarchy.

Remove the tune-x86_64.inc tune file in favor of it being an ABI
definition in arch-x86.inc and relying on the linear hierarchy of
concrete cpu-types in tune-i586, tune-core2, and tune-corei7.

core2_64 should suffice in lieu of x86_64 for all but a couple esoteric
corner cases involving older pre-core2 CPUs. In these cases, if they
exist at all, the BSP can replace the include tune-x86_64.inc with
arch-x86.inc and set the default tune to x86_64.

Signed-off-by: Darren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Richard Purdie <richard.purdie@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Paul Eggleton <paul.eggleton@intel.com>
Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@intel.com>
Cc: Nitin Kamble <nitin.a.kamble@intel.com>
Cc: Mark Hatle <mark.hatle@windriver.com>
Cc: Bruce Ashfield <bruce.ashfield@windriver.com>
Cc: Martin Jansa <martin.jansa@gmail.com>
---
 meta/conf/machine/include/tune-x86_64.inc |    4 ----
 1 file changed, 4 deletions(-)
 delete mode 100644 meta/conf/machine/include/tune-x86_64.inc

Patch

diff --git a/meta/conf/machine/include/tune-x86_64.inc b/meta/conf/machine/include/tune-x86_64.inc
deleted file mode 100644
index ae48124..0000000
--- a/meta/conf/machine/include/tune-x86_64.inc
+++ /dev/null
@@ -1,4 +0,0 @@ 
-DEFAULTTUNE ?= "x86-64"
-
-require conf/machine/include/x86/arch-x86.inc
-